Achievements & Recognitions

Nansen Refugee Award, 1977

The Malaysian Red Crescent is the first Red Cross Red Crescent National Society to receive the Nansen Refugee Medal from the United Nations High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR) in appreciation of its humanitarian services to the Vietnamese Boat People during the Vietnam War.

Tun Abdul Razak Award, 1982

The Malaysian Red Crescent is the recipient of the Organization Award from Tun Abdul Razak Foundation in 1982 for its outstanding services to the community and in managing Vietnamese Boat People crisis.

Prime Minister's Quality Award, 1991

The Malaysian Red Crescent was awarded the Prime Minister Quality Award (Social Sector) in 1991 for its excellent service to the Malaysian community: and for the high standards and outstanding contributions towards the nation’s development.

Henry Dunant Medal Recipients

The Henry Dunant Medal is awarded by the Red Cross and Red Crescent Standing Commission, which is a permanent statutory body of the Movement. It is also the Movement’s highest deliberative body, based in Geneva. The medal is awarded to individuals in recognition of outstanding contributions to humanitarian service. These individuals are exemplary role models to thousands of volunteers worldwide. 

Awarded to individuals in the Movement, the medal is nominated by the ICRC, IFRC and National Societies, and is normally presented during the Council of Delegates meeting every two years. MRC is extremely proud to be one of the National Societies to have received the Henry Dunant Medal twice through YM Tunku Tan Sri Mohamed bin Tunku Besar Burhanuddin, MRC National
Chairman in 1995 and Datuk Paduka Ruby Lee, MRC Secretary-General in 2009 after her retirement.


YM Tunku Tan Sri Mohamed bin Tunku Besar Burhanuddin became the first recipient of the Henry Dunant Medal in 1995. He was posthumously awarded the honour as a tribute and in appreciation of his humanitarian efforts, and contributions to communities, both nationally and internationally.

His wife, YM Tunku Puan Sri Azizah, accompanied by his daughter YM Tunku Atikah Tunku Besar Burhanuddin, attended the award ceremony. YM Tunku Tan Sri Mohamed was the first elected National Chairman, who had successfully helmed MRC for 25 years from 1969 to 1994.


MRC Secretary-General Datuk Paduka Ruby Lee became the second recipient of the award in 2009. The Henry Dunant Medal was awarded to her in recognition of her outstanding humanitarian service in providing care and relief assistance to vulnerable communities at the national and international levels.

The Standing Commission allowed for the medal to be presented to Datuk Paduka Ruby Lee away from the Council of Delegates’ meeting, by special request. She received the award during a special award presentation ceremony at the MRC National Headquarters on 4 March 2009. Prime Minister Dato’ Seri Najib Tun Razak’s wife, Datin Paduka Seri Rosmah Mansor presented the medal to Datuk Paduka Ruby Lee. Her contribution was also acknowledged by the Malaysia Book of Records where she was recognised as the longest serving secretary-general in humanitarian services. Datuk Paduka Ruby Lee had served as MRC’s Secretary-General for 31 years, from 1965 to 1996.